What Is Kundalini Yoga Poses

Written By Emma White

An experienced yoga enthusiast who has been practicing yoga for 8 years. In addition to her passion for yoga, she is also an avid traveler, having explored various parts of the world.

Reviewed By: Alan Thompson
Edited By: Reuben Lane

What Is Poses?

Kundalini yoga is a type of yoga that focuses on the energy that lies dormant at the base of the spine. The practice of Kundalini yoga aims to awaken this energy and move it up through the chakras, or energy centers, in the body. Kundalini yoga poses are designed to help practitioners achieve this goal. Here is a closer look at what Kundalini yoga poses are and how they work.

1. Kundalini Yoga Poses Are Dynamic

Kundalini yoga poses are often dynamic and involve movement. They can include repetitive movements, such as arm circles or leg lifts, or more complex sequences that flow from one pose to another. The dynamic nature of Kundalini yoga poses helps to build strength, flexibility, and endurance.

2. Kundalini Yoga Poses Incorporate Breathwork

Breathwork is an essential part of Kundalini yoga. Many Kundalini yoga poses are done in conjunction with specific breathing techniques, known as pranayama. These breathing exercises help to increase oxygen flow to the body and can have a calming effect on the mind.

3. Kundalini Yoga Poses Focus on the Spine

The spine is a central focus of Kundalini yoga poses. Many poses are designed to stretch and strengthen the spine, which is believed to be the pathway for the Kundalini energy to rise. Poses such as spinal twists and backbends are common in Kundalini yoga.

4. Kundalini Yoga Poses Can Be Challenging

Kundalini yoga poses can be challenging, both physically and mentally. Some poses require a lot of strength and flexibility, while others may be uncomfortable or require a lot of focus. However, the challenges of Kundalini yoga can also be part of its appeal, as they can help practitioners to push past their limits and grow in their practice.

5. Kundalini Yoga Poses Are Meant to Be Done in Sequence

Kundalini yoga poses are often done in specific sequences, known as kriyas. These sequences are designed to target specific areas of the body or energy centers and are meant to be done in a particular order. Practitioners may repeat a kriya several times before moving on to the next one.

6. Kundalini Yoga Poses Can Have Specific Benefits

Each Kundalini yoga pose is believed to have specific benefits for the body and mind. For example, the pose known as Sat Kriya is said to help with digestion and elimination, while the pose known as Ego Eradicator is believed to help with anxiety and depression.

7. Kundalini Yoga Poses Can Be Adapted for Different Levels

While some Kundalini yoga poses may be challenging for beginners, they can be adapted or modified to suit different levels of experience. Props such as blocks or straps can be used to make poses more accessible, and variations can be offered to make poses more challenging for advanced practitioners.

8. Kundalini Yoga Poses Are Best Learned from a Qualified Teacher

While it is possible to learn Kundalini yoga poses from books or videos, it is recommended that beginners seek out a qualified teacher. A teacher can provide guidance on proper alignment and breathing techniques, as well as offer modifications or adjustments to make poses more accessible or challenging. Additionally, a teacher can help to ensure that the practice is safe and effective.

We are a small business based in Iowa. Consider supporting us by sharing content that you like with your friends, family or community.

Receive the latest articles in your inbox